- Why the CFGP Has No Fixed Testing Calendar
- How Scheduling Works: Application First, Exam Second
- Building Your Application Timeline
- Online vs. Paper Delivery: What Differs
- What the Exam Covers on Test Day
- Fees, the Free Retake, and Membership Timing
- Sequencing Your Preparation by Subject Area
- After You Pass: The Two-Year Clock
- Verify These Details With AFGC Before You Commit
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The CFGP is administered by the American Forage and Grassland Council (AFGC), which arranges your exam after your application is approved.
- AFGC does not publish a fixed national exam-date calendar in the materials reviewed; approval comes first, scheduling second.
- The $100 fee covers the application and exam, including one free retake; AFGC membership is required.
- The online exam has 50 questions in about 30 minutes; the older paper guidelines describe a two-hour limit.
Why the CFGP Has No Fixed Testing Calendar
If you searched for "CFGP exam dates 2026" hoping to find a list of national testing days, a registration deadline, and a late-fee cutoff, here is the honest answer: the Certified Forage and Grassland Professional program does not work that way, at least not based on the official materials AFGC currently links. Many credentials run on fixed testing windows. The CFGP is closer to an application-driven process: you qualify, you apply, AFGC reviews your file, and the exam is then arranged for you.
That distinction matters for planning. Instead of working backward from a calendar date, you work backward from the date you can submit a complete, approved application. For most candidates, the real bottleneck is not the exam seat. It is assembling the education record, the documented experience, the subject-area training, and the referee statements the program requires. If you are still sorting out eligibility, start with our CFGP requirements guide before you think about a test date at all.
How Scheduling Works: Application First, Exam Second
The sequence for the Certified Forage and Grassland Professional runs in a specific order, and skipping ahead is not possible because the exam is arranged only after approval.
- Join AFGC. Membership is required. There is no non-member certification price, so you cannot sit the exam as an outsider.
- Confirm you meet the prerequisites. A relevant bachelor's degree and five years of full-time relevant experience are the baseline. Committee-approved graduate study can replace two experience years.
- Submit the application and the $100 fee. The fee covers both the application and the exam, including one free retake.
- Wait for application approval. AFGC reviews your credentials, training documentation, and referees.
- Receive exam arrangements. After approval, AFGC arranges either an online or paper examination.
- Sit the exam and receive your result. A score of at least 70% is required.
Notice what is absent: there is no step where you pick from a menu of national exam dates at a testing center. Because AFGC arranges delivery itself, your effective "exam date" is negotiated through the program rather than selected from a public schedule. This is why contacting AFGC early, before you finalize your paperwork, is a sound move.
Building Your Application Timeline
Since approval gates everything, the practical way to "schedule" the CFGP is to schedule your paperwork. The guidelines AFGC links specify several documentation requirements that take real lead time to gather.
Items That Slow Candidates Down
Each of these needs to be complete before approval, so start collecting them well ahead of when you want to test.
- Post-education experience: the guidelines specify experience gained after your education, not before or during it.
- Documented training in each of six subject areas: you need a record for every area, not just the ones where you are strongest. No fixed training-hour total is stated.
- Two work referees: they must be people other than your supervisor, and one must be outside your organization or peer group.
- Graduate study documentation: if you are using committee-approved graduate coursework to replace two experience years, that approval needs to be in hand.
The outside-the-organization referee is the item most likely to cause delay. A colleague in your own agency, company, or university department does not satisfy that slot, so identify an extension specialist, consultant, producer, or peer from another organization early and give them time to respond.
Realistically, if your experience and education are already in order, the documentation phase is a matter of weeks of gathering and following up. If you are close to the five-year threshold but not past it, the sensible plan is to confirm your qualifying dates with AFGC and apply as soon as you clear it.
Online vs. Paper Delivery: What Differs
AFGC can arrange the exam online or on paper, and the official documents describe the two modes differently. They should not be blended into a single set of rules.
| Feature | Online Examination | Paper Examination |
|---|---|---|
| Question count | 50 questions (per the brochure currently linked) | Not stated in the materials reviewed |
| Time limit | 30 minutes in the guidelines; the brochure says approximately 30 minutes | Two hours in the older linked guidelines |
| Proctoring | Online proctoring is recommended, not required | A proctor is required |
| Reference materials | Online rules not verified | Prohibited per the linked guidelines |
| Calculator policy | Not verified | Not verified |
The gap between a 30-minute online window and a two-hour paper window is large, and it is exactly the kind of discrepancy you should clarify when AFGC contacts you about delivery. The paper time limit comes from older guidelines, so confirm whether it still applies to the version you will actually receive.
What the Exam Covers on Test Day
The exam is a written knowledge examination. The official materials reviewed do not identify the item types, so avoid assuming a particular question style. AFGC officially names six educational subject areas and states that the exam covers that subject matter. It does not publish a separate weighted domain blueprint, so you cannot allocate study time by percentage weights.
The Six Subject Areas
- Vegetative Management
- Animal Management
- Conservation Planning on Grasslands or Grazing Lands
- Pasture Condition Assessment
- Economics of Forage and Grassland Management
- Grassland Soil Management, Soil Quality, Erosion Control, and Fertility Management
Because there is no published weighting, treat all six as fair game and prepare broadly. Our complete guide to the six CFGP content areas breaks down what each subject area tends to involve, and the CFGP cheat sheet condenses the must-know facts into one page for last-week review.
The 70% threshold is the required examination score, not the share of candidates who pass. If you want to understand what that cut means in practice, see what you need to pass the CFGP. With 50 questions on the online exam, the 70% mark corresponds to 35 correct answers if each question is weighted equally, though the materials reviewed do not state the weighting, so treat that as an estimate.
Fees, the Free Retake, and Membership Timing
The fee structure shapes how you time your application. The $100 covers the application and exam together, and it includes one free retake. That retake is a meaningful cushion: a first-attempt miss does not mean paying the exam fee again.
- Application and exam: USD $100, with one free retake.
- AFGC membership: required, with dues that are additional to the $100.
- Initiation payment coverage: the brochure says the initiation payment covers the first two years after passing.
Because membership is a prerequisite and dues are separate, join with enough lead time that your membership is active when you submit. For a full breakdown of what the credential costs over time, including renewal, see the CFGP certification cost guide. If you are weighing whether the investment pays off, our ROI analysis covers that question.
Key Takeaway
Treat the free retake as a safety net, not a plan. Use your first attempt seriously, but know that a miss costs you time rather than another $100. Ask AFGC how soon after a first attempt a retake can be arranged, since that timing is not specified in the materials reviewed.
Sequencing Your Preparation by Subject Area
Since your exam date depends on approval rather than a fixed calendar, build your study plan around the six subject areas instead of around a countdown. A sensible order front-loads the areas that other topics depend on. Soil and vegetation come first because pasture assessment, conservation planning, and economics all draw on them.
Soils and Vegetation
- Work through Grassland Soil Management, Soil Quality, Erosion Control, and Fertility Management first, since fertility and erosion logic underpins several other areas.
- Pair it with Vegetative Management so species, establishment, and growth behavior connect to the soil base.
Animals and Assessment
- Study Animal Management alongside Pasture Condition Assessment, because stocking and grazing decisions depend on reading pasture condition correctly.
Planning and Economics
- Finish with Conservation Planning on Grasslands or Grazing Lands and Economics of Forage and Grassland Management, which integrate the earlier material into decisions and tradeoffs.
Stay flexible about how long each block takes. If your daily work is heavy on grazing management but light on economics, weight your hours toward the gaps. Our CFGP study guide lays out a fuller preparation approach, and how hard the CFGP exam is helps you gauge which areas typically demand the most effort. You can also check where you stand with timed questions on the CFGP practice test site.
After You Pass: The Two-Year Clock
Passing starts a two-year certification period, and renewal planning begins immediately rather than at the end. The guidelines require 32 AFGC CEUs for renewal, including 16 in the six core subjects. These are AFGC's own credits and should not be converted using a generic contact-hour definition.
| Renewal Element | What the Materials State |
|---|---|
| Certification period | Two years |
| CEU requirement | 32 AFGC CEUs, including 16 in the six core subjects |
| Provisional extension | Six months, with a penalty |
| Lapse beyond one year | Re-examination required |
| Renewal fee | The older renewal form lists $25 |
Because the $25 figure comes from an older form, verify it with AFGC before budgeting. The practical lesson for scheduling is that your "next exam date" can be avoided entirely if you keep your CEUs on track: let certification lapse beyond one year and you face re-examination.
If you are still deciding whether the credential fits your career, the CFGP jobs overview and the salary guide give context on who values it and what it may be worth.
Verify These Details With AFGC Before You Commit
Because the governing documents are older and the program is application-driven, a short list of questions to AFGC will save you from planning around outdated information.
- Is there a current application window or rolling review, and how long does approval typically take?
- Will my exam be online or on paper, and which time limit applies?
- Are calculators, formula sheets, or any reference materials allowed in my delivery mode?
- Is online proctoring required or recommended for my attempt?
- How and when is the free retake scheduled after a first attempt?
- Have the 2011/2014 guidelines been revised, and is a newer version available?
For the official starting point, AFGC's certification page is the place to begin. For a broader orientation to the credential itself, see what the CFGP is.
Frequently Asked Questions
The materials reviewed do not publish a fixed national exam calendar. AFGC administers the program and arranges an online or paper examination after your application is approved, so your timing depends on when you complete and submit a qualifying application. Contact AFGC to confirm current procedures.
The application and exam fee is USD $100, which includes one free retake. AFGC membership is required and its dues are additional. There is no non-member certification price.
The online exam has 50 questions with a time limit of about 30 minutes, according to the guidelines and brochure. The older linked guidelines describe a two-hour limit for paper testing. Confirm which applies to your delivery mode.
You need at least 70%. That is the required examination score, not the percentage of candidates who pass. For more on how the cut works, see our guide to the CFGP passing score.
Certification is valid for two years. Renewal requires 32 AFGC CEUs, including 16 in the six core subjects. A six-month provisional extension carries a penalty, and a lapse beyond one year requires re-examination.